About The United Kingdom (UK)

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is made up of England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland and is located in the North-west coast of the Europe.

Despite being a major member of the EU the country is not part of either the Schengen or the Eurozone and looks unlikely to join which is thought to have spared the UK from the Eurozone crisis.

It is a constitutional monarchy that is a representative democracy with three elements that make up a Parliament, the Queen, The House of Lords and the House of Commons (elected)

The official religion is Christianity however the UK is an ethnically diverse, multicultural society with a variety of races and religions.

Known As United Kingdom – UK
Capital London
Head Of State Queen Elizabeth
Form of Government Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy
Location Northwestern coast of Europe between the Atlantic Ocean and the North Sea
Geographical Area 44,820 square kilometers (94,525 square miles) is shared by 4 main territories
Population estimated at 63,489,234 as of July 1 2014
Ethnic Make-Up Predominantly white British
Currency Great British Pound £
Time Zone Code Standard Time +4;GMT
Dialing Code 0044