About St Lucia

Saint Lucia is renowned for its white sandy beaches, crystalline waters and luscious rainforests and is known as the quintessential picture of Caribbean island idyll.

Those visiting the island are greeted by the unforgettable sight of the Piton Mountains, which are fringed by coral reefs, sandy shores and swaying palms as they rise majestically from the rolling surf.

Saint Lucia is a Commonwealth realm, Queen Elizabeth II is the Head of State although it officially gained independence from Britain in 1979. Its cultural heritage is considerably noticeable on the island having changed hands between Britain and France no fewer than 14 times.

Saint Lucia maintains friendly relations with the major powers active in the Caribbean, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and France. Saint Lucia has no extant international disputes. It is a full and participating member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) and La Francophonie. Saint Lucia is a Commonwealth Realm.


 Known As Saint Lucia
Capital Castries
Nationality Saint Lucian
Head Of Government Prime Minister Allen Chastanet
Form of Government Parliamentary democracy (Parliament) under a constitutional monarchy (Queen Elizabeth II)
Location Between the Caribbean Sea and [North Atlantic Ocean], north of Saint Vincent and north-west of Barbados
Size 617 km²
Population 178,000
Language English
Currency East Caribbean dollar
Dialing Code +1